NJ-SPJ 2021 Excellence in Journalism Awards – Submission Period Ended, Entries Being Judged!

This Year's Deadline for Contest Entries Has Passed

The NJ-SPJ contest is comprised of the following awards:

  • Community-Oriented Journalism (Weekly or hyperlocal) - The Stuart and Beverly Awbrey Award
  • Outstanding “Rookie” Journalist of the Year - The Wilson Barto Award
  • Reporter of the Year - The David Carr Award
  • Outstanding Journalism Educator of the Year - The Ron Miskoff Award
  • Best Audio News Story - The Herbert Morrison Award
  • Best Use of Public Records in a Story - The Tim O’Brien Award
  • Best Video News Story - The Gabe Pressman Award
  • Best Grassroots Journalism Award (Weekly or Hyperlocal) - The Barbara Reed Award
  • Best Investigative Journalism (Daily)
  • Best Investigative Journalism (Weekly or Hyperlocal)

The  contest submission period has ended. All entries will be judged by SPJ members from chapters in other states. Winners will be announced online in early May. An awards brunch will be held in June.

For past winners, see our contest archives (sidebar on njspj.org's contest page).

Questions? Contact our contest coordinators Alyssa Lidman at alyssa.nancy.lidman@gmail.com  or Christine Paige Diers at cpaigediers@gmail.com, or 605-490-3033.

Thank you for participating in NJ-SPJ's annual contest and supporting NJ-SPJ!